Recipie of the week

Tomorrow I’ll share the fish course with you but today has been a cake day – it started with good intentions but as I found myself suffering from a creative block I thought I’d share my first cake recipie with you!

Rose and Raspberry sponge

(it’s a good old victoria sandwich with a twist.)

I know everyone debates the best way to make a sponge cake – I prefer this way, it usually turns out nice and light and is dead easy!

Ingredients

3 large eggs

6oz self-raising flour (I find Sainsbury’s taste the difference extra fine sponge flour best)

6oz caster sugar

6oz butter

rose water

lots of raspberry jam, or, double cream and fresh raspberries

  1. Preheat the oven to 190c/gas mark 5
  2. Put the butter (make sure it’s really soft) and sugar into a bowl and cream until smooth using a wooden spoon.
  3. Breat the eggs in a seperate bowl and add two capfuls (about 1tsp) of rose water.  Depending on your personal taste this will vary. Adding the egg little by little beat into the butter/sugar mixture. (really go for it here and get plenty of air into it)
  4. Once all the egg has beeen beaten in add the flour and fold in with a metal spoon.
  5. Split the mixture between two greased and floured cake tins. Bake for 20mins or thereabouts until golden. (usually takes no more time but to check insert a skewer into the cake and it’s ready when the skewer comes back clean)
  6. Cool on a wire rack. Once cool add the filling (if the cake needs to keep, jam is the better option!)
  7. Enjoy!

Seafood course tomorrow!

About gingertea13

After a few too many glasses of Pimms in the sunshine I decided to quit my job as a coporate white witch and create...four weeks later Buns and Balls was born! Follow my progress as I try combine craft, cake and cocktails and create my dream business - it's make do and mend the northern way!
This entry was posted in recipies and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

